Province and Name of Senator	P.O. Address	Province and Name of Senator	F.O. Address
Quebec—concluded DESSUREAULT, JEAN MARIE BOUFFARD, PAUL H Ontario—(24 senators— 2 vacanciés) DONNELLY, JAMES J WHITE, GERALD VERNER, C.B.E HARDY, ARTHUR C., P.C	Quebec Quebec Pinkerton Pembroke Brockville	Manitoba(6 senators) Mollor, John Patrick Mullins, Henry A Haig, John T Beaubien, Arrhur L CRERAR, THOMAS ALEXANDER, P.C Howden, John Power Saskatchewan(6 senators)	Winnipeg Winnipeg St. Jean Baptiste Winnipeg
ATLESWORTH, Sir ALLEN BRISTOL, P.C., K.C.M.G McGUIRE, WILLIAM H LACASSE, GUSTAVE WILSON, CAIRINE R MURDOCK, JAMES, P.C SUTHERLAND, DONALD, P.C	Toronto Toronto Tecumseh Ottawa Ottawa Ingersoll	CALDER, JAMES Å., P.C MARCOTTE, ARTHUR HORNER, RALPH B ASELTINE, WALTER M STEVENSON, J. J JOHNSTON, J. FREDERICK	Blaine Lake Rosetown Regina
FALLIS, IVA CAMPBELL LAMBERT, NORMAN P. HAYDEN, SALTER ADRIAN PATERSON, NORMAN MCLEOD. DUFFUS, JOSEPH JAMES EULER, WILLIAM DAUM, P.C. DAVIES, WILLIAM RUPET BENCH, J. JOSEPH	Peterborough Ottawa Toronto Fort William Peterborough Kitchener Kingston St. Čatharines	Alberta—(6 senators) Michener, Edward Harmer, William James Buchanan, William Ashbury Riley, Daniel E Blais, Aristide Gershaw, Fred William	
CAMPBELL, GORDON PETER TATLOR, WILLIAM HORACE. BISHOP, CHARLES L ROBBUCK, ARTHUR WENT- WORTH. HURTUBISE, JOSEPH RAOUL	Toronto Scotland Ottawa Toronto Sudbury	British Columbia— (6 senators—3 vacancies) KING, JAMES H., P.C. (Speaker) FARRIS, JOHN W. DE B McGEER, GERALD GRATTAN	Victoria Vancouver Vancouver

7.-Representation in the Senate, by Provinces, as at Jan. 1, 1947-concluded

Subsection 4.—The House of Commons

In Section 37 of the original British North America Act of 1867 (30 Vict., c. 3) it was provided that "The House of Commons shall, subject to the provisions of this Act, consist of one hundred and eighty-one members, of whom eighty-two shall be elected for Ontario, sixty-five for Quebec, nineteen for Nova Scotia, and fifteen for New Brunswick" * Further, under Section 51, it was enacted that, after the completion of the Census of 1871 and of each subsequent decennial census, the representation of the four provinces should be readjusted by such authority, in such manner, and from such time, as the Parliament of Canada provided, subject to and according to certain rules set out in the original Act.

Readjustments in Representation.—The representation of the provinces in the Dominion Parliament as at 1867 and the readjustments that took place with the admission of the newer provinces into Confederation and with each Decennial Census up to 1931, are outlined at pp. 57-59 of the 1946 Year Book. The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the twenty general elections since Confederation is given in Table 8.

^{*} The sessional indemnity of a member of the House of Commons is \$4,000. The remuneration of a Cabinet Minister is \$10,000 a year (and of the Prime Minister \$15,000 a year) in addition to the sessional indemnity. A Cabinet Minister is also entitled to a motor-car allowance of \$2,000. The Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons receives an annual allowance of \$10,000 in addition to the sessional indemnity. The Speaker of the House of Commons receives, in addition to his sessional indemnity. The Speaker of the House of Commons receives, in addition to his sessional indemnity of \$4,000. a salary and motor-car allowance amounting to \$7,000, and is also entitled to an allowance of \$3,000 in lieu of residence. Members of the House receive \$2,000 per annum as an expense allowance, payable at the end of each calendar year. The allowance is not subject to income tax except in the case of Ministers of the Crown and the Leader of the Opposition.